Original Soundtrack

(Stax STS-2006, January 1969)

Billboard Top 200 Chart Peak: #98
Billboard R&B Chart Peak: #7

Produced by: Booker T. & The MG's

Track Listing


  1. Johnny, I Love You (3:04)

  2. Cleveland Now (3:12)

  3. Children, Don't Get Weary (3:35)

  4. Tank's Lament (2:53)

  5. Blues in the Gutter (3:28)


  1. We've Got Johnny Wells (3:48)

  2. Down at Ralph's Joint (3:53)

  3. Deadwood Dick (4:32)

  4. Run Tank Run (2:38)

  5. Time Is Tight (4:56)

Liner Notes

It is only in the last few years that Hollywood has begun to portray the black man with some semblance of dignity. "Uptight" is more than a breakthrough film; it is an historical event, clearly stating the rage, anger, and frustration that has accumulated in the hearts and minds of black people in America for over three hundred years, some of which is now erupting into physical violence and other forms of protest.

"Uptight" is concerned not with just the militant and non-violent forms of black American protest, but also with the devastation of a human bing cowed and pressured into submission by a society seemingly indifferent to his cries for help. It is a tribute to director Jules Dassin that he was able to capture the many nuances of black despair and rage with so much subtlety and feeling.

Booker T. Jones, musically talented since childhood, directed his high school band for four years and organized its dance orchestras. Jones' musical talent awarded him a listing in the students' "Who's Who of American High Schools." Booker T. and the M.G.'s, with many hit records to their credit, consist of Booker T. at the organ; Steve Cropper, guitar; Donald Dunn, bass; and Al Jackson, Jr., drums.

Back to Discography